via Daily Prompt: Unfinished

https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/27030/posts/1168211495

I decided to use this in prompt to show off my attempts to work with color pencils. Recently I’ve decided to try my hand at the new Adult coloring books that seem to have exploded in popularity.


Photo credit: Robson# via Visual Hunt / CC BY

I thought it would be the best way to try and test my knowledge on color theory. I had taken a color and design class years ago when I had just entered my art major, but by now my memory is pretty rough.

(even then my actually practice by hand back then wasn’t the best either, I was much more in my elements with a DSLR)

So the way I see it is that by trying my hand at working with color pencils I hope to relearn what I’ve forgotten, and hopefully gain a better comfort  level working with color.

So, so far I’ve taken notes on things from just playing around with this one page.

20160927_095717-1

Some of it has been that I should solely rely to using one sole color for a segment of the picture. I did that with he top of the ears but realized as I played around that I rather much enjoyed and thought it looked better when I added more then just one solid color in a segment. Then again that may be my own personal tastes, but its something I liked to discover. This whole little experiment is a lot of fun, far from being finished but I’m taking this as a learning experience to improve my understanding on color theory.

I’m always looking into new way to learn, and if anyone has a great tip or learning method, I would love to hear from you down below. 🙂 (I  still need a lot of help, so anything is greatly appreciated.)

 

